November 23, 2020


For Immediate Release                                                     

For more information contact:

Susan Cunningham, 785-271-4815




     The Kansas Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. (KEPCo) Board of Trustees unanimously elected Mr. Doug Jackson as President during its November 19 meeting, which was held virtually this year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.  Mr. Jackson is Manager of Rolling Hills Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Beloit and served as KEPCo’s Secretary in 2017 and 2018, and Vice President in 2019.  

     The KEPCo Board of Trustees consists of a Trustee Representative and Alternate from each of the 18 KEPCo member rural electric cooperatives. The Board annually names seven Trustee Representatives to serve as its Executive Committee. The other officers elected were: Vice President – Steve Foss, Manager of FreeState Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Topeka and McLouth; Secretary – Larry Froese, Trustee on the Board of Trustees at Ark Valley Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. in Hutchinson; and Treasurer – Bryan Coover, President of the Board of Trustees at Twin Valley Electric Cooperative Inc. in Altamont. Along with the officers, the following individuals were elected to fill the three additional positions on the Executive Committee: Mike Morton, General Manager of Bluestem Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Wamego; Charles Goeckel, Manager of Flint Hills Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. in Council Grove; and Kirk Thompson, Manager of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Meade.

     KEPCo is a not-for-profit generation and transmission electric cooperative headquartered in Topeka and is made up of 18 member electric distribution cooperatives that provide electricity and other services to approximately 300,000 rural Kansans.  KEPCo is a Touchstone Energyâ Cooperative, a nationwide alliance of more than 750 electric cooperatives committed to promoting the core strengths of electric cooperatives—integrity, accountability, innovation, personal service and a legacy of community commitment.