January 15, 2020
For Immediate Release
For more information contact: Susan Cunningham, 785-271-4815


The Kansas Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. (KEPCo) Board of Trustees unanimously re-elected Mr. Dale Short as President during its November 21 meeting in Mayetta, KS.  Mr. Short is Manager of Butler Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. in El Dorado and served as KEPCo’s Vice President from 2016 to 2018.  

The KEPCo Board of Trustees consists of a Trustee Representative and Alternate from each of the 19 KEPCo member rural electric cooperatives. The Board annually names seven Trustee Representatives to serve as its Executive Committee. The other officers unanimously re-elected were: Vice President – Doug Jackson, Manager of Rolling Hills Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Beloit; Secretary – Steve Foss, Manager of FreeState Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Topeka and McLouth; and Treasurer – Dean Allison, Director on the DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc. Board of Directors in Solomon. Elected to the Executive Committee, in addition to those listed above, were: Mike Morton, General Manager of Bluestem Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Wamego; Charles Goeckel, Manager of Flint Hills Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. in Council Grove; and Kirk Thompson, Manager of CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc. in Meade. 

KEPCo, a generation and transmission electric cooperative headquartered in Topeka, has 19-member electric distribution cooperatives that provide electricity and other services to approximately 300,000 rural Kansans.  KEPCo is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative. Touchstone Energy is a nationwide alliance of more than 750 electric cooperatives committed to promoting the core strengths of electric cooperatives—integrity, accountability, innovation, personal service and a legacy of community commitment.